top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

New beginnings.


New beginnings, a bit of a stereotypical blog title for 2021 but stay with me...


Were now in 2021, Ive owned Ruby for over a year now and wow what a year 2020 was! So much has changed since this time last year, obviously covid-19 played a big part in changing all of our normality but lets not dwell on that too much!


The start of 2020 had a few personal challenges to over come, an ending long term relationship and having to move house in the middle of a global pandemic and lockdown 1.0 living 4 hours away from all family was not exactly an ideal situation to find myself in nor being front line staff as a Paramedic not knowing what was going to come our way with covid-19. I had to accept that I still am nowhere closer to finding out why the medication that keeps me alive doesn't work as well as it should leaving me pretty much always looking and feeling like a zombie but so many good things happened too and they are what matter most right!


Most of last year was very positive, not as productive as I had hoped with Ruby but Im a big believer in patience and perseverance and all though we started 2020 with a booked dressage competition and dressage camp for later in the year and are starting 2021 out of work and unfit I hope our year of getting to the bottom of issues with what seemed like never ending physio appointments, dental visits, in hand work, feed change and medications we are almost ready to go again. She was looking 100%, on top form and had become much more settled to deal with. Unfortunately we then lost the riding area as the weather changed, she had changed shape again so a saddle search was on again... and having finally found a fitting saddle we then had a flare up of her arthritis. Note to self always remember to order new Botswellia, especially when its cold and damp! We are back on track on though, shes back to her normal stressy, sensitive, diva self and I guess I wouldn't really have her any other way! Well maybe some days, Im writing this following her spooking at ice, followed by me skating my way back to the field on the end of the leadrope while she prances about and refuses to eat her dinner again because of said ice!


So onto 2021!

Im not a new year, new me kinda person more of a same old me and I'll take everyday as it comes. My main goals for the year being have fun and enjoy the moment. Be it with Ruby, my boyfriend or being able to see family again if 2020 taught me anything its that the little moments make memories, appreciate what you have, be grateful for all our opportunities and dream big! Im entering 2021 with a much more positive out look, my nearest and dearest are safe, I have employment in a job I love on the ambulance, my small business has some lovely supportive customers and I think after years and years of dreaming I have found a wonderful new yard!





The yard move. So this is mine and Rubys new beginning.

We are now 10 days into 2021 and our first snowfall put a stop to moving yards, annoyingly but it has given me a few more days to prepare! Work has been full on recently so trying to sort everything between shift was hard, but her bed is now made up at the new place and waiting for her arrival when the roads are safe enough to do so! I am so excited to move! I love my old yard but at least for now I want to be able to have an arena to ride in with Ruby, it just happens the yard has some fabulous other add ons too which although not essential I am just over the moon to be able to be in a position currently to move here. I am so hoping its the right decision to make for the both of us but feel bringing her back into work with facilities and maybe to finally get our dancing diva shoes on get out to some dressage. The move is needed and hopefully its the new beginning we need.





Thank you for reading my rather long ramble. Iv'e not posted in quite a while and for once had some time and motivation to write something so thats what i did!


Meg & Ruby.




bottom of page