top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

'No Foot, No Horse' Winter Hoof & Leg grooming routine.

Winter brings a boat load of challenges for the equestrian world, were either battling rain and trudging through mud or slipping on ice and being too cold to actually move our fingers to undo the layers of winter rugs. Our horses legs and hooves although hardy and withstand our winters exceptionally well, they can always do with a little extra helping hand from their human so I thought id share my winter leg and hoof routine with you.

My routine varies depending on time, if her legs need to be washed off and her current hoof condition and obviously all horses are different so just because this works for me doesn’t necessarily mean its the right way or that it will work for you. I try to carry out this full routine once a week, some products ill apply daily, others as and when needed, she’s also kept out 24/7.

Step One: Washing.

After collecting my happy hippo who’s clearly enjoyed a mud spa last night, covering her brand new Masta rug in the process, ill decide whether to wash her legs off or if dried mud gently brush them off. There’s always a bit of controversy around the washing of legs in winter, the way I see it is as long they are throughouly dried afterwards and not done too often then its no mega deal.


If she still has product left over from barrier creams or sprays, I’ll use Hawkins Organic 100% natural winter warmer post exercise wash diluted in some warm water, sponge it onto her legs and give them a scrub. It’s a no rinse formula, smells lush and just gives that extra help without having to do a full leg shampoo and rinse.

Step Two: Drying.

This is the important part, it can be done with a simple towel, people even use hair dryers especially on them feathery legs but I’ve recently purchased two fabulous products which do the job for me. I firstly use a pair of the Ruff and Tumble Drying Mitts, yes they are designed for dogs paws but stick with me!


A towel has always been my go to but having recently started stocking these mitts in my ‘Muddy Mutts’ dog gift boxes at Feather and Fell, I had to try them out on the horse. Towels trail in all the puddles, they don’t stay on your hands and end up too wet to dry the last leg. These mitts fit over your hand like a glove, go up to your elbow and allow you to really scrub the leg dry in all the curves but you can also still use your hands to hold the legs up etc too. They dry very quick too!


Once reasonably dry I will then put on the Le Mieux four seasons leg wraps, which are lined with wicking fleece which help to further dry the legs. I actually bought these as a travel boot alternative, in the black Friday sale as 4 wraps for £25 I just couldn’t resist but have found them very useful for their actual intended use. These look super cosy I must admit, I’m a sucker for anything fleece or furry. I leave these wraps on till the legs are dry/I finish the rest of the hoof routine.

Step Three: Hoof Care.

After making sure the hooves are nice and clean, dried with the mitts and having inspected that there’s no nasties going on like thrush or bruising I’ll get to work.


Being a subscriber to My Horse Box, handily the latest box was ‘Hoofing Around’ so my hoof product collection has grown (again) and as they say no hoof, no horse so it’s definitely the part that shouldn’t be forgotten about.

I do change about what order I do the next bit in so id just suggest finding a way that works for you.

For the sole and frog Iv’e been using Comfort Gut’s Emerald Balm using fingers to spread it in an even layer, it has antibacterial and antifungal properties which is a great hoof help for soggy and boggy fields or for long periods in the stable.


I’ll then apply Stronghorn by Red Horse Products, you simply spray onto the horn and it gets to work nourishing and toughening the horn, preventing it from softening due to wet weather, its also a disinfectant. Both these products were included in My Horse Box, and both are now an essential kit in my grooming bag.


If I was to find any cracks or crevices in the wall or sole then i’d fill them in using The Alchemist Garden Charcoal Hoof Pack, now I haven’t had to use this yet, it came in my subscription box but having reading reviews and how it works it’s definitely seems like a handy things to keep in. Using activated charcoal it has thrush busting potential, preventing debris and infection to track up into the hoof.


Finally I’ll apply The Alchemist Garden’s All Natural Hoof Moisturising Balm, its easy to apply with a brush, smells really good and has natural anti fungal, anti microbial and antibacterial properties which prevent hoof conditions and keep hooves conditioned and crack free whilst also providing a barrier against water and mud making it ideal for winter. It gives a lovely shine too!

Step Four: The finishing touches .

After removing the wraps, ill inspect the legs for any scrapes, injuries or dreaded mud fever! If all is well then were good to go if not then ill change my treatment.


Another product received in My Horse Box was the Derma gel from Equine America, in a handy little spray and gel form. Its a great little bit of kit for going away, or just to add to little minor abrasions and cuts as you find them. It is known for ‘rapid and intensive skin care’ and provides a moist epidermal environment whilst helping to clean necrotic tissue, encourage natural hair growth and it doesn’t contain steroids so completely safe for competitions and mare and foals.

Protechmasta Silveraid Leg WrapsHarry Hall If I’m leaving her in for some extra hay and chill, further grooming or if I was stabling overnight then I apply the to review for there use with mud fever (Full review can be read here) but I now use them for their other aids for general maintenance in supporting healthy joints and maintaining blood flow, aid recovery and of course for their support in prevention of bacterial infection. If stabling overnight I see a noticeable difference in her legs filling when she wears these so at any point I can I always put them on.. I was very kindly gifted these by


Finally before turnout I’ll add a barrier from the knee/ hock down to try and prevent any unwanted mud sticking or nastiness getting in. I use either NAF Mud Guard Barrier Cream which nourishes and contains MSM to support the skin and has added rosemary to soothe sore areas, it also comes in a huge tub, easily applied by your hands and although a bit messy to apply it works great. It creates an almost film like barrier and dries clear, it lasts a good few days too although I do find it a bit sticky to fully get rid of it but it shows it’s doing its job!


I recently ran out of the NAF cream so have been using the IV Horse Dermalogic MFP Mud Barrier and Leg Guard Spray which came in a previous My Horse Box a few month ago. Its easy to apply being a spray, although i’ve been spraying onto my hands and wiping down the legs to make sure it’s covering the full leg. The spray includes tea tree oil which helps to form a protective barrier therefore stopping any of the harmful bacteria getting in and potentially causing mud fever. This also works super well, I also apply to her tail to stop the mud sticking too.

Step Five: Release the hippo.

By now your horse will wonder why it’s taken so long to faff around, they’ll be sick of lifting their legs up and you might of even had your toe stood on so its time to give your last cuddles, release the beast and watch your happy hippo go find the muddiest of places to wash his/her legs off the right way.


Thanks to all your hard work and the saving grace of barriers, their legs should emerge as sparkling as they went in, much to your horses disgrace.

I hope you enjoyed my little behind the scenes on part of my grooming routine and if enjoyed I'd love to share my full body grooming routine too. I did hope to do this in a vlog form but currently my phone's not playing ball!

Thank you for reading,

Meg xx

bottom of page