top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

MY NEW LIFE UP NORTH


Blog titles don’t come easy to me, in fact lately any words at all haven’t been flowing out like they used to! All of my creative blogging mojo seems to be a thing of the past, my recent blogs being structured around product reviews rather than my usual type of blogs but I am hoping this will change that and add a much more personal touch to ‘The Girl In Green’ once more.

As some of you know, summer this year was a huge turning point in my life. University finished, I moved into my first house, in a brand new area a few hours North from my family and friends in Yorkshire and two hours South from Tom (my other half, who escaped my company to work in Scotland). Sandwiched nicely in between my favourite people but very much alone, knowing no one or the area and about to start my dream career as a Paramedic. Which in itself is scary enough!

Skip three month and I am now 22 years old and 2 days away from being let loose without another paramedic in the ambulance with me! Time flies when you’re having fun right? I must admit fun is probably not the most fitting word, flying around pretending I know what’s going on is more like it!

Moving to a new ambulance service from who I trained with at University was much more of a challenge than I had anticipated too. The different protocols, drugs used, equipment, vehicles and of course brand new area just added to the stress of A starting a new job in general and B starting as a newly qualified Paramedic without being able to hide behind the ‘student’ title anymore. Thank god for preceptorships!

You will be happy to know I am now slightly better at navigating the North and with the help from my lovely crew mates much more clued up on the new bits to learn with this trust. Obviously still nervous for my first shift as the only Paramedic on the vehicle Friday for the first time ever but that was always going to happen!

Living alone, not ideal, especially when your other half lives in the gorgeous Scottish Borders as a gamekeeper with your new puppy! It goes without saying most of my rest days are spent up at Toms, helping feed the pheasants or telling the dog off for eating yet another sock! Hopefully next year ill be transferring stations so we can move in together and save the long commute! Ive never been one to like a lot of company but coming home after shift to a dark, cold house when you know Toms snuggled on his sofa with the dogs does make it a lot harder! I love the house, but I don’t think ill ever fully settle there.

Before I finish my ramble about me I thought id share why the blog has taken abit of a step back lately other than the above, obviously effecting blogging too but Ive tried to have a huge push to get my photography back on track!

MJ Photos took on our first sponsored rider, I brought out my first country calander , greetings cards, prints and canvases of all my country style prints, the website and Instagram had a revamp and my equine/canine portrait sessions were much more popular since offering different package options too! I hope 2019 will bring lots of lovely photoshoots , starting with brand new commercial lifestyle photography packages!

I do have a few exciting blogs lined up for you guys, im hoping before Christmas but I’ve completely taken the pressure off myself to post blogs and write for the sake of producing content. I hope you agree but id personally much rather write with purpose and take time to produce a blog than to rush a half hearted one because the motivation just isn’t there! That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it anymore, I do , I love it , it just means every once in a while I need to take a step back and not put too much on my shoulders at once!

I hope our little catch up didn’t bore you too much, I just wanted a post to explain whats happening at the moment and why I may have been lying low on the blogging front! Speak soon, Meg xx


bottom of page