top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Keep warm this winter with Sherwood Forest.

So here we have it, the blog a lot of you have been waiting for , the Sherwood forest Marton jacket review. If you want to keep warm this winter then this is the coat for you! This gorgeous jacket was very kindly gifted to me by Sherwood, something I am still very grateful for as it is now my number one go to coat for this time of year!

If you have read some of my reviews previously you’ll be aware I try to add my personal experience with the product and not a sales pitch so to speak which just repeats the website information so all the views in this blog are solely my own which I hope you will find to be beneficial!

Unboxing Unboxing the jacket was exciting, having worn my other half’s Sherwood coat for over two years I was absolutely over the moon to receive my own and the style did not disappoint! The Marton overall has quite a feminine feel to it with excellent attention to detail with contrasting browns on the pockets, shoulders and sleeves. A nice decorative touch without adding colour and spoiling the blending in to your surroundings aspect of a good country coat!

For those who don't know me too well I’m a gamekeepers girlfriend so spend a lot of time out helping with the birds, feeding pheasants in the freezing Scottish winters as well dabbling in equine/ country photography on my days off work in the ambulance. I also love a good dog walk so a stylish, versatile jacket with the durability to withstand the ever changing outdoors but also see me a pub lunch mid dog walk makes the Marton the perfect contender!

I have now tried and tested the jacket on a variety of occasions hence the long awaited blog but felt I needed to, in order to give you an honest review from actual use and not just a quick try on in my bedroom! One tip I will give is if you are like me and like to layer I’d size up! Being a ladies jacket it is quite tight around the arms, I wouldn’t say restricting but feel if I had of got my normal size, I may not of been able to comfortably move once I had my 2 hoodies, gilet and a fleece... But if you are normally a toasty person who doesn’t need the extra layers I can’t see it being a problem!

I have found the Marton to be extremely warm, as you have probably guessed I do feel the cold however I have actually found myself delayering mid pheasant feed which is very unusual for me so I can say it will keep you nice and warm for this time of year with a layer under but equally for those warmer autumn days its thin enough as a only layer without being too hot and bothered! Perfect for beating.

Mud and mess seem to follow me around, so keeping my jacket clean was never going to be an option for me however the material seems to allow dried mud , the green fence moss (?) and horse saliva to be brushed straight off! The outer material so far seems very withstanding to the weather too! I’ve been out on the hills in wind and rain and have felt no chill or had no leaks and the over the bum style of this coat adds a little more protection from the elements too which is another winner for me and another reason I love this coat!

The extra touches added to this jacket make it look good without ruining it’s practicality. As I’m used to wearing Tom’s and looking slightly lost and almost like I’m wearing a brown bag having a coat with a slightly more fitted design feels and looks great! The Marton is fitted with a gathered waist (the best I can describe it) at the back which brings the coat together nicely around the waist but also allows for some stretching when fastened if you do prefer the extra layers under!

The back also has a double gusset allowing for extra flexibility and room which makes it great for riding horses and for climbing over them fences out beating!

Being a coat with alot of styling options I thought I’d add a few 'ways to wear' starting with my favourite which is the Marton teamed with a cosy roll neck knit, tucked in a tweed wrap skirt. This is an unusual style for me but the coat tones down the skirt and with wellies it’s excellent for that winter dog walk with a pub lunch added in or with a nice pair of country boots.

My second would be although simple for out on the field, with a smart pair of breeks, shooting socks , gilet , shirt and bold scarf for a splash of colour the Marton will serve you well practically and look super stylish!

Finally my third option would be more for your everyday casual wear with a pair of jeans, your comfiest hoody and a nice chunky scarf!

Overall I cannot fault this jacket at all, if you are looking for a versatile coat be it for dog walks, beating, horses you name it , the Sherwood forest Marton will do the job and look good!

To purchase or to see full product details please follow the link :https://www.sherwoodforestltd.com/marton-jacket-199-p.asp

Speak soon,

Meg XX

Speak soon, Meg XX


bottom of page