top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Straight from the horses mouth; Hurd&Co.

'Straight from the horses mouth' is a brand new aspect to The Girl in Green where you can find out all about your favourite brands in an interview style blog with the owners themselves. You can't get much more personal than that right? The brains behind the business often get lost and never get to share who they are , what their visions are or how their business was born. This blog gives them a chance in the spotlight and I can't wait to share more interviews with you!

The first brand to get involved is the lovely Dawn Hurd from Hurd and Co who are a gorgeous chunky knitwear company handmade in rural Somerset.

That's enough of me talking, lets get on with the questions!

1. Tell me a little bit more about yourself and your business.

Hi, my name is Dawn Hurd, I am mum to an 8 year old girl and boys 9 and 14! I live in Somerset with my children and builder husband, who is always threatening that this renovation will be the last…. My parents have a poultry farm where we spend a lot of our free time, they’re not far from the beautiful Quantock Hills, we are very lucky. I am the owner, designer and creator of Hurd and Co, a chunky knit business making country style knits. I only started the business last November and have been over whelmed by the response.

2. What made you want to start your business? Were there any influences from other brands or people in your life?

It all started last year with my daughter wanting to learn to knit. I used to knit when I was little but hadn’t for years, I found myself picking up her needles when she was in bed, in no time I was hooked. A friend of mine, author and jewellery designer Tansy Wilson encouraged and supported me from day one, in fact she was my first customer ordering 15 scarves for a Christmas event near Bath which she was attending. The scarves were an instant hit, Hurd & Co was born. The Co is my family from modelling to helping packaging and selling they are always there to support me, it’s a real family business.

3. What has been your favourite moment of owning a business so far?

A couple of moments really stand out for me, my first online order from a complete stranger, it is true what people say when you buy from a small business a person does a little happy dance…. I really did dance and clap! I had tried out my products on facebook and had a great response from family and friends who probably felt a little obliged to support me so when someone I had never even had a conversation with trusted in me it was amazing. Also the recent blogs by Lost in The Country by Paige Walsh and Darling Buds of Hay by Lynsey Bellingham blew me away I check them regularly just to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.

4.Have you faced a lot of hurdles in getting to where you are today? How did you overcome them?

The biggest issue facing me has been the lack of capital and time. With my first cheque from Tansy I bought 160 balls of wool and sold to anyone who would buy from me, eventually I had money coming in which allowed me to gradually buy business cards, carrier bags, a leather stamp etc. I then hit social media hard and set up a website. From day one I knew I wanted to build a brand and I knew how I wanted it to look but I couldn’t afford to get bags and boxes printed, signs made etc so I did it myself I make the stickers for the bags and boxes, I print the hessian sacks, I stamp and cut all the leather tags by hand, I knit all of my products by hand, I also handle all of the marketing, sales and promotions….the list goes on and on!

5. How are you different from others?

I am very aware that images of knitting conjure up granny’s jumpers and jumble sales. I provide an affordable high quality branded product. My aim is to produce a modern, stylish, easy to wear product finished to the highest standard. I am a bit of a perfectionist and each product is checked thoroughly before I am happy to sell it, I think this attention to quality and detail and the effort that goes into the packaging and presentation of my products makes me stand out from my competitors.

6.What is you biggest business dream and why?

I would love to have my own shop with a workspace, somewhere to display my products and be able to interact face to face with customers. It would be great to be able to leave projects out ready to pickup where I left off instead of having to clear the kitchen table every meal time

7. Do you have a few words for anyone who may be thinking of setting up a business?

If I were to offer any advice to anyone thinking of starting up their own business it would be to surround yourself with positive people and take advice when its given. It is a difficult and challenging path at times and it can be very lonely it helps to have someone in your corner.

Secondly do not under estimate the power of social media it has been the single most effective tool I’ve used to find my client base.


8. What is your favourite moment of 2017 so far?

Best moment of 2017 was seeing the look on my children's faces the first time they saw my website, Olivia thought I was famous and the boys were delighted to see they were featured modelling. It was a proud moment.

Thank you Dawn for your contribution, lovely answers and for being so supportive with my blog over the past few months! I love your products and can't wait to receive mine and share them on my instagram and blog!

Please visit www.hurdandco.com to see all of the lovely knitwear, perfect for winter! Dawn has also been kind enough to offer a 20% discount off the stunning scarves! Use 'GREEN' at the checkout (Offer ends October 8th 2017).

Thank you for reading , I hope you enjoyed finding out all about Hurd and Co and I hope you look forward to more of 'Straight from the horses mouth'. Featuring next is one for the horse lovers ; Chloe Binns from Tottie Clothing and Harry Hall riding!

Feel free to get in touch with any suggestions, improvements , feedback and if you would like to get involved!

Speak soon, Meg xx


bottom of page